It’s my life

Hey, I’m new here.

If you’re reading this, chances are you lost a bet or you already know me. Or both.

I’ll tell you right up front that theory vs. experience will be a major theme in my writing. Just exactly what that means will become clear by the end of this post.

Since this is my initial post, I must first give you an intro to all things Tim. Sorry. Those are the rules. Whose rules you ask? Shut up. It’s my blog.

I am a lefty, except when it comes to batting or playing golf. I’m also a slightly off-kilter lawyer. Rare among the lawyering breed, I have some moral scruples and sensitivity. It’s also possible that I’m only saying that because the ladies like it.

Truly, I’m a romantic yet also logical, analytical & rational. I’m not all that politically correct. I keep it real, yo. I am also too old to credibly use terms like “yo” and “big pimpin’”. I want to experience and understand everything and everyone. I’m a little ADD. I could never live in some sparsely populated area. To be happy, I need to be around lots of expressive people with strong opinions. I should probably listen more. I need to talk–lots. I need to write–lots. It’s a mania. But I like it. To me, it is big pimpin’.

I’m generally pretty easygoing and non-judgmental. I live and let live. I don’t hold grudges. But, I do get worked up on a regular basis. You can’t live if your heart doesn’t beat and the more beats, the more life. I call it passion. I’m pretty passionate about most things.

If I think you’ve taken advantage of me or someone I know, for example, I have no qualms about bringing you to justice. I care about seeing that good people are treated with the fairness and dignity that all people deserve. You could characterize that “worked up” trait as the junkyard dog lawyer in me, I suppose. It’s not at all like the second coming of Gandhi or Mother Theresa. Rather, it’s belligerent and tenacious. On the other hand, I’ve had people remark on my sensitive, perhaps even naive, idealism. I don’t know. I guess that makes me a rabid idealist.

Like all idealists, my turn ons are long walks on the beach, newborn kittens and world peace. In that order.

Writing is another turn on. Kurt Vonnegut is one of the major reasons that I write and someone I’ll blog further about, no doubt. His was a unique, idealistic and unapologetic voice. He’d been through World War I and knew about harsh reality. May he rest in peace. And so it goes.

I love reading books like The Liar’s Club by Mary Karr. She’s now a poet and college professor in upstate New York, I believe. The book captures her personal experience–a dysfunctional childhood growing up in South Texas. It is at once funny and poignant. It reads like poetry. That’s the thing about unfiltered truth. It usually does.

I admire any author who can capture the truth of any moment. You know authenticity when you read it. It’s what poetry is about. The title “poet” garners little respect in modern day society. That’s unfortunate. I define poetry as any writing that is evocative of reality in a way that connects viscerally with the listener or reader. The truer the emotion, or the more intense, the better the poet. Rappers are probably among the best poets today.

Want to hear me rap about my unique worldview? No? Well here, then, are the three most important tenets of my worldview, written in boring prose.

1) You can get what you want if you help people get what they want. This applies to love, friendship & work. Even Van Wilder knew that “life is all about developing relationships.” BTW, return on your interpersonal investment will not be 100%. Don’t expect it to be.

2) Strive for effectiveness, not perfection. Demanding perfection in yourself and others is a dysfunctional trait. To my discredit, I am still a perfectionist about certain things. But when it comes to people and art, I learned long ago that imperfection is to be embraced and valued because it is truth. I have no use for airbrushed people. After all, it is the Mona Lisa’s imperfect smile that makes her beautiful.

3) The law is an ass. Mr. Dickens had it right when he penned Oliver Twist. To wit:

Mr. Brownlow: The law assumes that your wife acts under your direction.

Mr. Bumble: If the law supposes that, then the law is a ass, a idiot! If that’s the eye of the law, then the law is a bachelor. And the worst I wish the law is that his eye may be opened by experience.

Did you catch that the law’s an ass is all about juxtaposing theory with experience?

There’s the rub. We’re talking about forcing the square peg of idealism into the round hole of reality.

It’s often a recipe for frustration.

It’s definitely a recipe for bloggin‘.

And it’s my life.

~ by Tim Daniel on July 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
